It’s pretty common knowledge in construction that ‘patching’ drywall that has that modern, smooth-wall (very little texture) finish is one of the hardest types to get to look good. Now I see why they say that…because it’s true!

Because I am the one who did all the work to get the smooth-wall look, I have the advantage of knowing what kind of sandpaper I used, what kind of roller (nap) I used, etc., but it still didn’t come out as good as I would’ve liked it to. I feel that if the wires weren’t in my way, I could’ve done a little bit better job.

Without further ado, here’s my wall after removing my thermostat:

Old Thermostat Hole

Old Thermostat Hole

And here it is after I patched, primed, painted:

Thermostat Hole Patched

Thermostat Hole Patched

It actually looks better in the picture than it does in person. But I do believe it’s not bad for a rookie, eh?

