Well, we went to Maker Faire this last weekend, on Saturday. It was incredibly awesome from what little we saw (more on this in a minute). First, let me share a bit of newfound experience – GET THERE EARLY if you ever go. I figured that getting there when they opened (10am) would be good  timing….WRONG! I didn’t realize just how popular and big this thing is. We got to the exit ‘Delaware’ off of Highway 92 around 10am. The freeway was backed up at that point because of so many people getting off at this exit. It was bumper to bumper all the way from the exit to the actual fairgrounds and beyond. When we got to the various parking lots, they were already full. This was about 11am. And we were at the same place (San Mateo County Fairgrounds) last month, and let me tell you – the parking lots are HUGE! We had to go park at one of the ‘off-site’, 3rd party lots and walk to the fairgrounds (about a 10 minute walk). We finally got in (through the closest entrance to where we parked), and this was our first view:

Just inside an entrance

Just inside an entrance

Anyway, we went straight to that big building just ahead, and it was a big, dark area of cool stuff. We went there first because there was some stuff going on that B wanted to see. If you want to see the videos that I took of a few things, just visit my channel:

http://www.youtube.com/domiflichi

After we saw everything in there, it was lunchtime. Then it was downhill from there. I woke up that morning with stomach trouble (yeah, big surprise), and on the way had a few sips of B’s Starbuck’s which made it worse. By lunchtime I had about 3 Pepto tablets already, but halfway through lunch, I thought I was going to die. After running to the bathroom, I knew I couldn’t stay any longer…I had to go home. I (and B apparently) was soo disappointed. We hadn’t even scratched the surface of this awesome event and I hadn’t seen anything that I really wanted to see/came for. Getting in 1.5 hours late made it worse because that could’ve been time used to see other cool stuff. Basically we saw everything on the inside of the main area of that building, but saw next to nothing on the outside (where pretty much everything was).

Oh, I do have one more photo I took while waiting for B inside (this was taken just inside one of the exits of the main hall, looking outside):

Strange fire horn thing

Strange fire horn thing

There’s always next year I guess…

Edit: A brief slideshow of just a few things you could’ve seen there:

http://www.nbcbayarea.com/news/local/Maker-Faire-2012-152187085.html

 

