Worn-Broken Gear - 1sm

Ok, so it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. I apologize, but I’ve been extremely busy.

Moving on…

Can you guess where this came from? No? It came from my (Sears Craftsman) automatic garage door opener. The AGDO was already in place when we bought our house, and it looked old then. Now, about 10 years later, the thing stopped working. I didn’t know why – when I pushed the button to open/close the garage door, it made noise, but nothing seemed to be moving.

Having no idea what’s wrong with it, I opened it up, and low and behold, found this. My friend (Google) that knows how to fix anything, told me what to buy and how to replace this gear. Google (more specifically YouTube) was right – it only took about an hour to replace it and have my opener up and running again.

Sorry I don’t have any more photos, such as the new gear or the process of replacing it, but our mutual friend can tell you what you need to know.

Well, that’s about it for now. Let me just say that if I would have called a professional to fix my opener, I’d be out at least $125. (Oh, I bought the part off of eBay for $7 including shipping)

