One cold November evening after work, I was ready to take a shower as usual. I went to pull the handle that turns on the water, and the whole thing came off in my hand. I didn’t actually pull that hard (I thought), but it sure came off easily. An endless, powerful stream of water came shooting out of the hole that was revealed behind the shower handle.

So here are a couple of photos of the old one:

Old, broken cartridge

Old, broken cartridge

Old, broken cartridge

Old, broken cartridge

I did some searching on Google / YouTube for what is going to be involved, and finally discovered that this is a ‘shower handle valve cartridge’. I wasn’t seeing any exact replacements online, so I was hoping there would be a ‘universal’ one. I looked at some small print on the area where this came from and noticed the brand, Price Pfister. This helped a lot.

After consulting with my dad, I went to his place and picked up a spare that he happened to have (works for a plumbing/HVAC supply company). Home Depot / Lowe’s seems to actually carry these too (for about $15).

As soon as I got home, I installed the new one (my dad also sent some special grease for this part) in about 2 minutes. It was very easy, and it works perfectly I discovered after turning the house’s main water back on!

What’s the point of this story? I’m not sure.

Until next time…

 

